Skip to content

If You’re Into Minimalist Opera in Sanskrit, Have I Got the Song for You!

November 18, 2010
by

In my time off blogging, I’ve developed a low-grade obsession with opera. I’ve gone to the Kennedy Center to see the Washington National Opera’s productions of Un Ballo in Maschera and Salome. Both were lovely. I’ve also been listening to Tristan und Isolde in chunks; I have a hard time with the density of Wagner’s music, but it’s definitely rewarding.

I was also lucky enough to get tickets to the National Endowment for the Arts’ Opera Honors. I’ve never been partial to Philip Glass’s music, but this piece from his opera Satyagraha blew me away.  I think it neatly represents the whole minimalism thing, featuring a haunting melody over neatly-textured, repetitive instumental parts.

Unfortunately, the jerks at Sony Music don’t want me to embed this song on my blog. God forbid they let go of the past by playing to the internet’s strong points. DO YOURSELF A HUGE FAVOR AND LISTEN HERE.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

