Skip to content

Shuttle’s Time of the Month

February 7, 2010
by

Looking closely at the picture of the landing shuttle I posted below, I noticed something weird just above the thrusters.  While common sense, reason, logic, and evidence dictate that it’s the deployment of the drag chute used to slow the orbiter from about 215 miles per hour to 68 miles per hour, I’d prefer to think of it as a big tampon.

What’s next, douching the Hubble?

Update:  My uppance came over IM

Aaron: um
  it looks like a parachute cord
  tampons go in the other way
  maybe you’ve been using them wrong all these years

I suppose I deserve that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

