Skip to content

Breaking News: Mel Gibson is Still a Dick

February 4, 2010
by

Not only does he twitch like a nut, and give the petulant brat’s “I said I’m sorry”, Melvin Gibstein closes out the interview by swearing at the “dude”. Wow!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jonathan permalink
    February 4, 2010 9:07 pm

    That’s pretty bad, especially the Asshole part.

    This is even worse.

    • Barry permalink*
      February 4, 2010 9:17 pm

      In late September, I blogged about art by jerks. I like Wagner despite his antisemitism. Werner von Braun’s accomplisments at NASA were profound, despite his complicity in Nazi atrocities. I am not sure that Mel Gibson’s ouevre rises to the level that his personal shittiness is worth overlooking. Is this hypocrisy or inconsistency on my part? Yes, but it won’t keep me up nights.

      • Jonathan permalink
        February 5, 2010 12:40 am

        Apocalypto was a work of mad genius.

      • Barry permalink*
        February 5, 2010 12:45 am

        How so?

  2. Jonathan permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:33 pm

    Well, for starters there is a scene that is a string of beheadings from the POV of the people being beheaded, and we see their consciousnesses quickly fade out as their heads roll down the side of a pyramid- and no, I can’t explain it any better than that. Sorry.

    Umm, there is also a comedic scene involving testical eating.

  3. Jonathan permalink
    February 5, 2010 5:56 pm

    It is just insane. It’s hard to explain. It is also brilliant. Hence, mad genius.

    Anyway, about Mel, in 2006, Ari Emmanuel, one of the top three most powerful agents in Hollywood, and the brother of Rahm by the way, lead an industry boycott against Mel. Now, in 2010, Mel is at Ari’s agency. So things change over time.

    Is Mel fucked up? Yeah. Is he as bad as any of the people mentioned in your earlier post… Nah. He’s just an angry, hypocritical guy who says stupid things when he is drunk and literally worships his father.

    • Barry permalink*
      February 5, 2010 7:10 pm

      His bad may not be as bad as Wagner’s, but his artistic contributions don’t even come close.

      • Jonathan permalink
        February 5, 2010 7:24 pm

        So… it all boils down to how his bad relates to his art. If only there were some sort of mathematical calculation to figure out to what degree Mel is bad, to what degree Wagner was bad, how good Wagner’s art is, and how good Mel’s films are. Then a formula could be devised to judge artist’s accomplishments against their shortcomings.

      • Barry permalink*
        February 5, 2010 7:30 pm

        Like I said, I know I am being irrational about this, but I’ll sleep well at night nonetheless.

        Actually, let me restate my position more clearly: if someone’s art is very good, his or her personal shortcomings will not be an impediment to my enjoyment or appreciation of it. I will still understand that the person is a dick, but I can put that aside.

        If Braveheart were on TV, I wouldn’t change the channel. I like the movie, and I wouldn’t dwell on Mel Gibson’s odious beliefs or personality while watching it. For the most part, though, I think his movies are mediocre (like I said, I didn’t see Apocalypto – sounds interesting). I wouldn’t watch them anyway.

        Knowing myself, I would probably mutter something about what a loser he is while flipping the channel. That’s all. I don’t pretend to have algorithms to guide my opinions. My sex and my music are pure math, though.

Leave a Reply

