Skip to content

Permanent Record

January 21, 2010
by

While my harried, Semitic features have pretty much stayed intact over 30 years, I do change quite a bit. There was a time when I had no idea what string theory was. Several days after that phase ended, I entered a time during which string theory made perfect sense and was the coolest thing I could possibly imagine. Over a few years, that slowly dissolved into my current state; it’s still a cool idea, but questions over its validity persistently dull the luster.

Not only was I unaware of Uncle Tupelo’s existence back when they were together, I am pretty sure that if I had heard them then, I would have been disappointed that their music lacked a certain Aerosmithian quality.

Here are 8 things I love, but did not like when I was first exposed to them:
Slaughterhouse Five
Wilco
John Cage music
New York City
Pesto
Octopuses
Physics
Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy

Here are 3 things that I don’t like, but used to love:
Washington, D.C.
Billy Idol
Numerology

All of which brings me to this: I will never get a tattoo. Leaving aesthetics aside, there is nothing – not one thing – that I am sure I will want to have committed to my flesh in 40 years.

If you’re a tattoo person, how do you get over this? Is it even something to get over? Perhaps you’re not bothered, or perpaps you strive to choose designs with some timelessness about them. What’s the deal?

This post was inspired by this collection of terrible ideas:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. JoJo permalink
    January 21, 2010 12:18 pm

    that’s funny, my grandfather’s full name was Harry Semitic Features

  2. JoJo permalink
    January 21, 2010 5:29 pm

    i have a tattoo of each of my friendster “fakesters”, as i knew making those guys was something i’d always be in to.

Trackbacks

  1. Links: Inmates Running the Asylum Edition « Is It Luck?

Leave a Reply

