Skip to content

A Female Horse Of Course Of Course

December 24, 2009
by

The Associated Press recently polled sports editors from around the country on the female athlete of the year.   Serena Williams won in a landslide.  What caught my attention was that the second most votes went to Zenyatta, a horse.  Rachel Alexandra, another fucking horse, also made the top 10.

I would think that humanity is an implicit part of the word “athlete,” but no one asked me.

Update: I don’t consider myself a feminist, or even particularly attuned to the struggles of women in contemporary society.  What I resent is that the AP poll sucks all the joy out of mocking the WNBA.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. JoJo permalink
    December 24, 2009 10:43 am

    the article you linked to said this: “the winner [of male athlete of the year] was NASCAR driver Jimmie Johnson. Given the AP’s criteria, maybe his automobile should have won instead?”

    ha.

    • Barry permalink*
      December 24, 2009 10:45 am

      I know what it said. Maybe my computer should win Reading Comprehender of the Year.

      • JoJo permalink
        December 24, 2009 11:01 am

        ha!

      • JoJo permalink
        December 24, 2009 11:03 am

        i have a friend who presented a paper on computer speech recognition at a conference. but the conference was in italy, so nobody understood him.

        hardy har.

  2. Barry permalink*
    December 24, 2009 11:07 am

    It’s so hard to tell the athletes from the animals these days; take my horse. For example.

    No, no. I kid. But seriously, folks; I got a horse for my wife. It was a pretty good trade.

    (Tap tap tap) This thing on?

Leave a Reply

