Skip to content

Sapporo is Already My Favorite Beer, This is Mile-Thick Icing on the Cake

December 7, 2009
by

Holy living fuck, it’s space beer.

One of the cool things about space is that it makes boring things interesting.  How do you find out if a spider can spin a web in space? You send it up there and look.  Can butterflies go through their life cycle in space?  Send some up and watch.  What does Alka Seltzer do in microgravity?  Only one way to find out.

The good people at Sapporo got their hot little hands on some barley that was grown on the International Space Station in 2006.  Since then, they have been making very limited batches of beer from barley descended from the crop grown in space.  The newest batch is out, and 250 people will be selected by lottery to buy a six pack for about $110.  Since the barley grew normally, there’s really no difference in the taste, but it’s cool as shit nonetheless.

It got me thinking about products I would buy were they derived from space.  I would like to wash down a space steak with a double of space bourbon.  I would polish off the meal with a space cigarette and call it a day.  Also, space pistachios.  I have my reasons.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Aaron permalink
    December 7, 2009 7:10 pm

    Favorite post yet!

  2. December 7, 2009 7:39 pm

    Space Barley? Holy crap.

  3. Jonathan permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:07 pm

    Sapporo is your favorite beer??? Yuck! Try a nice Belgian Trappist ale, like Chimay. I know you guys don’t like Christians, but monks really do make the best beer in the world, and you don’t have to be crazy, or to be a believer or anything. You just need taste buds. Fuck. Buy a bottle of Sapporo and a bottle of Chimay and fucking blindfold yourself. That’ll make a believer out of you.

    • Barry permalink*
      December 7, 2009 11:10 pm

      I am not much of a beer drinker, but I like the super-dry taste of Sapporo. I also like Aventinus when I can find it. But when I drink, it’s mostly either bourbon or vodka on the rocks.

  4. Jonathan permalink
    December 7, 2009 11:11 pm

    And yes, Chimay is more expensive than Sapporo, but Sapporo has an alcohol content hovering around 4%. Chimay’s blue label is around 9%, so you still get more bang for the buck. You’d have to drink like, a gallon of Sapporo just to get a buzz.

    • Barry permalink*
      December 7, 2009 11:13 pm

      I never really drink beer to get drunk.

  5. Jonathan permalink
    December 8, 2009 12:17 am

    Ah. Well, I am going to drink a bottle of La Fin Du Monde this evening. It is a French Canadian beer, very excellent, from this brewery:

    http://www.unibroue.com/english.cfm

    I was going to pick up a bottle of Chimay, but the price got to me.

    Anyway, I think if you try an artisan handcrafted brew you might change your opinion about beer in general.

  6. David permalink
    December 8, 2009 9:59 am

    Space dildo. I have my reasons.

Leave a Reply

