Skip to content

More Abortion, Please

November 30, 2009
by

I don’t think I have mentioned it on the blog before, but I have a certain sympathy with the anti-abortion movement. While I think they apply an erroneous and arbitrary definition of “life”, it’s the one they go with, and so in their eyes actual murders are happening all over the place all the time.

In light of that, it’s surprising to me that they don’t murder more abortion doctors. I mean, they think murder factories operate in every city of this country. If I believed that, I could see how that could move me to violence. That said, several of their techniques are nonstarters for me. When they hold up graphic images of dismembered fetuses, all I can think is that I wouldn’t want to watch eye surgery being performed, either. That it is gross to look at in no way reflects on the morality of the act.

And then I came across this. Li’l Markie purports to give voice to a fetus as it develops, culminating in the lovely song “Why Did You Kill Me, Mommy?” Never before have I felt so decisively pro-abortion. I am not pro-choice. I don’t support a woman’s right to “choose”. I support her right (and perhaps obligation) to exterminate fetuses that resemble the imagined Li’l Markie.

Here’s a tasteless addendum about alcoholism. Have a listen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Korbie permalink
    December 1, 2009 12:14 am

    Alright, I laughed at the video when the singing started. Massive appeal to emotion. Again, it talks about potential, but then again, a woman goes through perhaps 400 eggs in her lifetime. And of course, the billions of sperm from the man. All that wasted potential. We should savor the potential; we should save all those sperm and eggs in a jar.

    I don’t really like abortion in the pro-choice sort of way either. I don’t really like it when people have to abort due to their own mistakes. At some points, though, it’s certainly justified as in the case of rape or extreme genetic defects.

Leave a Reply

