Skip to content

Lovely Saturday

November 7, 2009
by

I had lunch this afternoon with Ed Brayton, author of Dispatches From the Culture Wars. After a shitty club sandwich at The Dubliner, we walked over to the Capitol to watch people protesting against health care reform. We caught the end of the rally, walking to the stage in time to hear people chanting “kill the bill”. Then, of course, Lee Greenwood’s masterpiece “Proud to Be an American” was piped in.

I hope mental illness isn't contagious.The highlight of the afternoon, if not the highlight of my life thus far, was meeting Michelle Bachmann. It’s not often I get photographed with someone who has earned the title “the craziest person in X”. When X = the United States House of Representatives, it’s doubly thrilling.

I asked her when she would become Speaker of the House.  Mishearing me, she said, “you want Nancy to be here?”

I replied, “Nooo!  I want you to be the next Pelosi!”

I was lying.  She winked.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan permalink
    November 10, 2009 10:58 pm

    You’ve GOT to be shitting me! That is amazing. Palin/Bachmann 2012 y’all.

Trackbacks

  1. A Matter of Scale « Is It Luck?

Leave a Reply

