Skip to content

Pop Quiz; or, You Still Lose

September 14, 2009
by

Here’s a hypothetical:  You want to protest against an evil regime, but you want to walk away from the protest without being tortured, killed, or tortured and killed by secret police.  Would you choose to protest in:

A. Berlin in 1940

B. Moscow in 1950

C. Washington, D.C. in 2009

The teabaggers don’t seem to realize that they are beneficiaries of the very freedom they claim to be deprived of.  It is their right to spout paranoid nonsense.  It is also my right to call them out for being hysterical idiots.  I am pretty sure that they don’t know the meanings of many of the words they are using.

The content of these signs must have been generated after some careful thought.

Also – what the fuck is up with the Obama as the Joker meme? I have seen several signs with that image.  It seems about as illogical as the Hitler and Stalin comparisons, but much weirder.

Update: Many more pictures here and here.

Pictures from Little Green Footballs and Dispatches from the Culture Wars.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jonathan permalink
    October 1, 2009 3:37 am

    Well, things like the following would be right at home in 1940’s Berlin or 1950’s Moscow:

    • Barry permalink*
      October 1, 2009 7:07 am

      Bearing superficial resemblance to something that Nazis or Communists did isn’t enough to garner the comparison. No doubt the chanting is creepy, but these kids aren’t revolutionary thugs as were the Bolsheviks and Nazis.

  2. Jonathan permalink
    October 1, 2009 11:33 pm

    It took forever, but I finally found what looks like a legit back story for the video. It was just an isolated thing from a few years ago. Here is what I found:

    I called and spoke to Bernard, who said he was the assistant Dean. He was very gentlemanly and when I voiced my concerns about the video, he told me that this was taken at the school last year when Obama was beginning his campaign. He assured me that they stopped this “regiment” because they felt the person who was organizing it was pushing his political agenda.

    He assured me that he didn’t know it was on YouTube. I gave him the link to where to go for this video and when he found it he said, “Oh this is not good. I had no idea” I told him I’d take his word for it. He then asked me, nicely, “what’s the main concern? Because I want to understand where you’re coming from so that I can figure out how to handle this.”

    Nicely, I told him that the video looked militant. I told him about the Colburn School video and how it resembles propaganda films from Communist dictatorships. I told him that the US military is frowned upon for going to high schools trying to recruit potential grads into joining their ranks. Why shouldn’t we frown upon those who come to a school like yours to encourage kids to worship a politician? One who is not even a president.

    I also said that if this was done to make kids feel better about themselves, why do it in the name of Obama? Why not encourage kids to believe in the power of themselves?

    He assured me that he would get to the bottom of the situation, thanked me for my call and we hung up.

Leave a Reply

