Skip to content

June 26, 2009
by

Music is important. Even if it were good for nothing else, it is key to the way I put my own memories in context.

Family trip to Florida in 1983: Kris Kristofferson’s Here Comes that Rainbow Again.

Visiting my sister at college: Pulling Mussels (From the Shell) and Tainted Love.

Getting beat up by my brother (the early years): Twisted Sister.

Getting beat up by my brother (the later years): License to Ill.

Sixth grade gym show where my class slam dunked basketballs with the aid of trampolines: Groove is in the Heart.

Up Yours, Gravity Ratt and Extreme and Duran Duran and EMF came and went, but Michael Jackson was always there. When I was very young, I wore a silver glove around the house. In kindergarten, I ripped my chin open playing Thriller with my friend Eric. I was the werewolf, he was the girl. When I got home from the hospital that night, all I wanted to do was put Thriller on and run around some more.

As a tween (ha!), I bought Dangerous and Nirvana’s Nevermind on the same trip to Merle’s Record Rack. When I was pretty certain that real music was defined by the amount of distortion on a guitar, I was still transfixed by videos like Scream and Black or White.

Michael Jackson knew something about music that remains hidden to the rest of us. I am sorry to see him go.

Truly,

B

PS – If there was one moment of levity in all of yesterday’s coverage, it came when, in a random street interview on E!, a woman said, “Michael Jackson was the Barack Obama of music.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2009 6:00 pm

    Is the lack of a title on this post in some way meaningful?

  2. June 27, 2009 10:53 am

    No.

    • David permalink
      June 29, 2009 10:31 am

      I had a Michael Jackson doll when I was a really little kid. We’re talking Thriller-era here. It was the one where Mike was still black and wore the shiny glove on his one hand. I loved Michael Jackson when I was a little kid and I always liked his music later on. I thought the Scream video was amazing too! Even in the mid-90s and later, everything going on in music stopped and paid attention when MJ put something new out. He was that important. It’s too bad the way things ended up playing out with his personal life and his legal woes. And it’s even more sad the way he appeared to go out of this world. Here’s to hoping that wherever Michael Jackson is now, he finally found some peace.

Leave a Reply

