Skip to content

Church Bad, Court Good

May 29, 2009
by

Read all about it.

Is it any surprise that the Church has gone all the way to the Connecticut Supreme Court to preserve its right to conceal from the public evidence of its agents raping children?

For my part, I say we throw out the baby Jesus with the bath water.

Worst wishes,

Father Barry


P.S. – I hope this post is manichean enough for you, JoJo.


8 Comments leave one →
  1. JoJo permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:14 pm

    so much so that i can’t recognize the humanity of the other side…

    🙂

  2. JoJo permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:15 pm

    the mlb player’s union also uses privacy to mean ‘don’t go poking around for foreign chemicals in our urine.’

    because of course those private fluids have no relevance to a public activity…

  3. JoJo permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:17 pm

    i think your time zone marker is off- it is 415 pm, not 915, by my count, though since i started counting at the beginning of time, i might be off by a few ticks by now.

  4. Barry permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:24 pm

    JoJo comment 1 – Unlike Augustine of Hippo, I reverted to my manicheaism. Also, I’m not from Hippo. I’m from rhino.

    JoJo comment 2 – Any group whose work is observed by tens of thousands, hundreds of thousands, and sometimes millions of people necessarily has a warped understanding of privacy. I guess.

    JoJo comment 3 – I keep the time set on GMT in order to comply with the instructions of a blog amalgamator that does live updates of Is It Luck?

  5. JoJo permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:28 pm

    amalgamating the privacy of millions of rhinos, got it.

  6. Barry permalink
    May 29, 2009 8:30 pm

    They don’t call me The Great Rhino Amalgamator for nothing.

  7. Jared Tester permalink
    May 29, 2009 9:03 pm

    I believe the correct spelling of “Baby Jesus” here in left-leaning Blogistan is “Bybee Jaybus.” This works because: 1) It approximates the Southern twang of many (if not most) far-right Evangelicals, and 2) It takes any potential sting out of mentioning “Jesus” directly.

    It’s also funny, in my view, although perhaps it has better to switch “Bybee” to “Baybee” or “Baybuh,” lest the truly Satanic Jay Bybee get his God Complex up again.

    Love the blog; keep on keeping on.

  8. Alek permalink
    May 30, 2009 3:24 pm

    After the Bush administration’s handling of Katrina, my thought was, “Man, if these fuckers don’t go down for this, something’s really wrong.”

    I have the same thought every time I see one of these stories.

    The part that is sadly not analogous is that here in the land of at least mild sanity, we have things like term limits and another party we can switch to when one goes nuts.

    I suspect, though, that catholics around the world will never get to a point where they demand new leadership.

Leave a Reply

