Skip to content

I’m just sayin.

May 18, 2009
by

2.09
1.88
1.91
1.83
2.85
2.34
2.74
1.66
1.94
1.38
1.80
3.15
1.40

These are Mariano Rivera’s season ERAs, 1996-2008.

There are 16 players, all time, who have a better lifetime ERA (Rivera’s is 2.29). The most recent season any one of them pitched was 1920.

Bonus incredible fact: Rivera is 3rd all time in WHIP. Of the two guys ahead of him, one last pitched in 1917, the other in 1910.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jojo permalink
    May 18, 2009 5:08 pm

    and he does it without changing speeds, thereby defying a law of pitching. so he’s magic, too.

    that jerk.

  2. Dan permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:40 pm

    Yeah, he’s the worst video game pitcher ever because you can’t change speeds with him.

  3. Dan permalink
    May 18, 2009 11:59 pm

    This is not really related but….

    why the hell is swisher hitting 5th? Arod is hitting .173, but he’s got a .385 OBP. If he’s not hitting but still getting on base at a nice clip, they must be pitching around him. Same thing with Texiera before A-Rod came back. Girardi needs to drop Swisher two spots, letting Cano and Melky move up behind A-Rod. Opposing pitchers couldn’t pitch around A-Rod if Cano was behind him. It baffles me that Girardi hasn’t done this. Swisher isn’t a great hitter who should be expected to break out of this slump–he’s a career .244 hitter.

    That being said, I only half believe what I just said. There isn’t any evidence that protection actually helps. But it SOUNDS so logical!

    http://www.baseballprospectus.com/unfiltered/?p=1042

    http://www.sabernomics.com/sabernomics/index.php/2004/09/the-protection-externality-it-doesnt-exist/

  4. Barry permalink
    May 19, 2009 1:03 am

    Ugh. Enough of the Yankees strokefest, you Bronx scumbags.

  5. Jojo permalink
    May 19, 2009 1:13 am

    I agree with Dan that logic has acoustic properties, but I agree with Barry too. Probably moreso.

  6. Aleksei permalink
    May 19, 2009 9:24 am

    How is this a strokefest when I’m the only one stroking? Dan’s contributions have all been grumbling. The minimum for it to be a “fest” of strokage, I’d think, would have to be three.

    One of the running themes on this blog has been brief posts in appreciation of human excellence, such as that of astronauts, Tom Waits and Bach, Dave Godowsky, Roy Cohn, Magic Sam, and Link. I think, no matter your affiliation, you’ve got to appreciate Rivera’s ability to throw baseballs.

  7. Barry permalink
    May 19, 2009 2:55 pm

    I would be surprised if you told me that I have done anything to give you the impression that my hatred of the Yankees is subject to revision or abatement. It is not worth comparing Mariano Rivera to any of the people you mentioned, as none of them are Yankees.

    Finally, I don’t think I appreciate his ability to throw baseballs half as much as Luis Gonzalez does.

  8. Barry permalink
    May 19, 2009 2:55 pm

    I would be surprised if you told me that I have done anything to give you the impression that my hatred of the Yankees is subject to revision or abatement. It is not worth comparing Mariano Rivera to any of the people you mentioned, as none of them are Yankees.

    Finally, I don’t think I appreciate his ability to throw baseballs half as much as Luis Gonzalez does.

  9. Aleksei permalink
    May 19, 2009 10:16 pm

    so petty. so petty and hateful. you are a little, little man.

  10. Dan permalink
    May 20, 2009 12:44 am

    If I intended to stroke, I would point out that we have put together the best 3-4 hitters in the game at the same time that our top rival traded their best hitter and their next best lost his pixie dust. I would write about being a few games out of first despite losing their best starter from last year as well as Nady, bruney, posada, Molina, and even arod until recently. I would wonder at the incredible potential that shows for not only this year but the future. But I didn’t want to stroke it, so I left the bragging out.

  11. Barry permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:00 am

    Good thing you left the bragging out, because if you had done that, I would have reminded you of a reverse sweep in 2004, icing on the cake in 2007, and 5-0 against the Yankees this season. I would have also mentioned that said top hitter won’t be hitting anything for another 6 weeks.

  12. dan permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:52 am

    Right, the only three year window in all of baseball history that counts.

Leave a Reply

