Skip to content

Big City, Small World; or, Leatherface Gets a Salad

May 13, 2009
by

Hello! After lurking in the comments to just about every post on this blog, I finally got called up from the minors and here I am with my very first official post on “Is It Luck.” So, here goes…

The idea for this post struck me while I was on my way to work this morning. I live, work and am about to graduate from law school in Washington, DC. The population in the Washington, DC Metropolitan Area is estimated at around 5.3 million people, making it the eighth largest metropolitan area in the country (thanks wiki!). Yet, despite the fact that my stomping grounds is one of the ten largest urban places in the U.S., I see the same people all the time!

For instance, I always stop for coffee at this place b/w the Metro and my office and I always see the same people in there at the same times. One of my favorites is a man who I presume is a lawyer who wears a power suit and has slicked back hair. This dude looks mean. Each day he orders an Americano, pays for it with his American Express card, and storms out of the cafe. As soon as he’s outside, this guy lights up a smoke and you can see his shoulders relax with the first puff.

Another guy I always see is at lunch-time at this shitty little deli/pay by-the-pound joint near my office. This man has a leathery face, a terrible skunky looking haircut, and a worse collection of ties. Leatherface always gets a salad from the salad bar and then budges in the sandwich line to order some grilled chicken to put on top of it. This guy has nudged while I was ordering a sandwich and I used to despise him. Now I kind of look forward to seeing him.

The point is, I have gotten used to these little interactions and they make me feel sort of comfortable. I also wonder if these people think about me in the same way? Do they think of me as the guy who always orders a large Columbian coffee or the guy who eats his lunch alone and reads the paper? I’m not sure, but I’m looking forward to bumping into Leatherface and some of the other regulars at my little deli today.

Love,

Deej

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Barry permalink
    May 13, 2009 3:29 pm

    Why not strike up a conversation with Leatherface, and report back to us. Does he have a Leatherwife? Leatherkids?

    What’s his job? Why does he like chicken so goddamn much?

    Leatherface may be just be man that America has been waiting to meet.

  2. Aleksei permalink
    May 13, 2009 4:28 pm

    I wonder if he has anything to do with why slicked-back-hair guy is so stressed out.

  3. On the Internet permalink
    May 13, 2009 5:52 pm

    Usually everyone is very busy worrying if other people are thinking about them, so unless you have something real crazy about you, no one’s paying attention.

    Which is good or bad, depending.

  4. NicklebacksNumber1BlackFanYeah! permalink
    May 15, 2009 8:11 pm

    You have to start up the conversation in a really creepy way that lets him know you recognize him. As he inches up to the counter, ask him if he’s going to put chicken on it, or better yet, right before he nudges you out of the way, just order the chicken for him.

Leave a Reply

